Pork Fat, Sadlo, Shortening, Lard

Posted on 23/11/2009. Filed under: Bohemia, Culture, Czech Eats, Czech Republic, Eating Greener, Farming, Food | Tags: , , , , , , , , , |


All I really wanted were a couple dozen eggs. The butcher down the street has free-range chickens and eggs so I always try to buy them there; but, as I stood there looking at the meat I couldn’t help but feel kind of repulsed by the sight of it. Now don’t get me wrong, I like meat, I respect meat and I eat meat, just not a lot of it; in other words I “Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants”; but lately, after having gotten whatever meat we eat off the farm by killing it and portioning it myself, seeing it sitting in the butcher’s made it seem kind of plastic and not all that fresh and yummy.

But wait, this has nothing to do with the eggs I went in for in the first place, or the fat that this is supposed to be about.

Living here in Prague is in fact a rustic experience, don’t let anyone tell you that it’s not. You say, “Hello” on the sidewalks and you acknowledge the presence of others as if you were neighbors. Even here. Most of the time. Still.

One of the more important things that we divvy up amongst the families when we kill a pig is the fat, which is then taken home to be rendered. First of all, nothing is wasted, and I mean nothing. And secondly, pork fat is still used a lot here in cooking, baking and snacking. Yes, I said snacking. I’ve read that the Germans have a similar culinary delight called Griebenschmalz, but what my wife used to do before I introduced her to vegetables was simply to slice a piece of bread and slather it up with cold, homemade lard. She didn’t even bother with the little crunchy bits!

So staring me in the face at the butcher’s was a lot of unpleasant pieces of meat, but for some reason the cold, white stare of the pork fat sitting there seemed irresistible. So, here I am now in the kitchen finishing up with my rendering of pan upon pan of fat not only for the quart of fat it will produce but also for the small pieces of “škvarky” or as the Brits call it, “cracklings”. I’ve no idea what this is in American English to be honest, something akin to “pork rinds” I imagine. Hey, I grew up at a time when lard was on the out and no one used it except my grandmother in her awesome Angel Food Cakes. I’ve come to find more recently that it’s a great substitute in my Bran Muffins etc. whenever there is a call for shortening. It’s basically the same thing, no?

So what was it about those slices of white pig fat that was so enticing? I’ve no idea. Maybe the purity of it and the knowledge that within about 30-40 minutes of slicing and slowing frying, I could have something pretty simple and natural to cook with (or let others snack on) and I cannot fry eggs in anything other than pig fat, no way. And as for the “simple and natural” side of the argument, it seems that more and more, some of the old ways might have been the better ways, at least in terms of health.

And if you’re interested in how to do it yourself (it’s better than buying it), then here’s a quick run-through on how. Don’t forget to Eat Wild.

Gotta go, I’m making Avocado Soup with home-made chicken broth, and my wife is home so I think I’ll surprise her with some škvarky!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

3 Responses to “Pork Fat, Sadlo, Shortening, Lard”

RSS Feed for Pragensismac Comments RSS Feed

Besides the Lard is Healthy article you refer to, your readers should also enjoy The Oiling of America, The Rise and Fall of Crisco and other Big Fat Lies at our series here http://wholefoodusa.wordpress.com/category/4-m-e-n-u/fats-and-oils/

[...] amount of the fat that will be divided up among the families to take home and render for cooking, snacking etc. 50.083000 [...]

[...] Dealing with pork fat yet again (see here). [...]


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Flickr

    Mumlava Waterfall

    Sweetshop on the Znojmo City Square

    More Photos
  • Blog Stats

    • 6,480 hits
  • Twitter

  • Archives

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 75 other followers

